Out of Print but In the Closet

eucharist_-_the_church_s_treasureJust a few weeks ago, I got an email from someone asking for a a bunch of copies of one of the first encyclical study guides I did with Pauline Books.  Back in 2004, I did companions to John Paul II’s encyclical on the Eucharist, Ecclesia de Eucharistia, and his apostolic letter on the Rosary, Rosarium Virginis Mariae.  Both guides are now out of print.  But the inquirer was interested in using one of them for some group study this summer and wondered if I had copies.  I had to tell her that I only had a few copies of both.  Then I called around and found a few more unsold copies, but even that was not enough.

Now this weekend, there I was cleaning out a closet and found a box full of them that I hadn’t realized were there!  I had plenty all along.  Talk about feeling stupid.  Oy-vay.

Anyway, if anyone is interested in copies of my Eucharist: The Church’s Treasure or At the School of Mary, they’re available.  They’re $6.95 each, plus $1.50 for shipping.  I also have saintscopies of the newest encyclical study guide, Your Guide to Spe Salvi: Saved in Hope (6.95), as well as Saints for Our Times: New Novenas and Prayers ($12.95).  You can have a set of all 4 for $35.00, shipping included.  (I’ve added buttons for all of this to the bookstore page on my website.)

The three encyclical companions basically provide a guided tour of each document, providing explanations, illustrations, background material, questions for reflection, prayer prompts, and suggestions for living out the teaching.  I’ve received positive feedback from others who have used  them in group settings.  The Saints book includes basic biographical material, an original novena, and some supplementary prayers for each of the 18 (or so) saints and blesseds it features. (Most of them are so recently beatified/canonized that you will not find novenas to them anywhere else.)

Summertime’s a great time for spiritual growth.  (Plus, if you hop over to my website, you’ll notice one of our kids just graduated from high school … starts college in the fall … you know how that goes… every little bit helps.)

