Fr. Patrick Peyton’s Cause

There’s a special Mass in Baltimore today marking the opening of the cause of Fr. Patrick Peyton.  I’m not sure what it means that they’re marking the opening, since it was formally opened in 2001.  He already received the title Servant of God at that point, and I presume research into the cause has been ongoing since then.  Perhaps this is the opening of the Baltimore phase of the investigation. 

At any rate, the next step for “the Rosary Priest” would be recognition of his heroic virtues, which has not yet happened.  After that, it would take a miracle (literally) for beatification, and another for canonization.

Fr. Peyton emigrated to the United States from his native Ireland in 1928, at age 19.  He went on to become a priest here, and was very active in using the communications media (specifically, radio) for evangelization.  He died in 1992.

More on him here later, I’m sure.

2 Responses to “Fr. Patrick Peyton’s Cause”

  1. JAN SPRINGER Says:

    I WOULD LIKE TO HELP. I GREW UP WITH THE ROSARY PRIEST IN THE 50’S AND FROM HIS HOME TOWN OF SCRANTON. PA. KEEP ME POSTED WITH ALL UPDATES. THANKS JAN

  2. S. Andrews Says:

    I met Father Peyton when I was a child during his Rosary Crusade, in the late 40’s, I believe. “A Family That Prays Together Stays Together” was the slogan. And indeed, after supper every night (even before the dishes were cleared) we all prayed the Rosary together. Here it is over 60 years later and, for those of the family who are still living, we are still together. I guess he was right!!

Comments are closed.


