Today’s Guest Blogger: Sr. Kathryn James Hermes, FSP

When I decided to do this Festival of Hope, one thing I wanted it to be was practical and real, rather than simply theoretical and theological.  I wanted to draw out the down-to-earth, real-life implications of the virtue of hope.  Thinking this through, my mind went to the work of Sr. Kathryn James Hermes, FSP. 

Sr. Kathryn has written and published an important group of books the center around the nature of depression and how to live with depression in a healthy and effective way from a faith perspective.  I know there are many people out there who struggle with depression and that it can make life very difficult and painful.  It also can be a significant challenge to nourishing the virtue of hope. 

If you or someone you love does, you might want to consider taking a look at Sr. Kathryn’s work.  Her books include Surviving Depression: A Catholic Approach, Prayers for Surviving Depression, The Surviving Depression Journal: A Companion through the Tough Times, and Making Peace with Yourself: 15 Steps to Spiritual Healing (which is the giveaway today),

Below is Sr. Kathryn’s contribution to our Festival of Hope.

2 Responses to “Today’s Guest Blogger: Sr. Kathryn James Hermes, FSP”

  1. Fred A. Benjamin Says:

    Quite recently lost my wifw and best friend and having lots of trouble coping with it. Living with a son and am not happy here. I would like to go to Mass more often but there are only two here in town. Where can I get your book “Depression and making peace with yourself I heard of the book in my Living Faith Booklet.

  2. Barry Michaels Says:

    Offering a prayer for you this evening, Fred. I’ll forward some information to you via e-mail.

Comments are closed.


