November 1 Book Giveaway: Saints for Our Times

Happy Feast of All Saints!

Today is an exquisitely appropriate day to begin a month-long period of celebrating and reflecting on hope, because the saints are living witnesses to hope, evidence of the grace that God offers to each of us, signs of the glory to which each of us are called, vibrant illustrations of hope received, embraced, and lived fully, even and especially in the midst of the most severe sorrows and pain.

And so I thought it would be appropriate to open the Festival of Hope by giving away a free copy of my book, Saints for Our Times: New Novenas and Prayers.  Published last year, it’s probably my favorite of the four of them.  (It’s certainly got the coolest cover art.)

I’m going to try different methods of choosing winners for the books and other items I’ll be giving away this month.  But for today, let’s try this. 

To enter, leave a message in the comments box of this post by midnight tonight.  In the comment, name a saint who gives you hope, and say why.  Do it in a sentence or a paragraph, whatever you like.  It’s not a test, there’s no right or wrong answer, and you won’t be graded on the quality of your response.  Use your name or don’t, it’s up to you.  Your e-mail address will not be published, but I’ll need it to contact you in case you win.  For today’s giveaway, the winner will be chosen at random from among all who enter.  (One of my kids will pick one from a hat.) 

There will be plenty to give away this month, almost every day in fact, so stop by often, and spread the word.

3 Responses to “November 1 Book Giveaway: Saints for Our Times”

  1. Nancy C. Brown Says:

    Mother Teresa, whom I met, gives me hope. Each day, I struggle to live my Christian vocation as a wife and mother. But not a day goes by that I don’t remember what an interviewer who was talking to Mother Teresa said.

    “Oh, Mother Teresa, it must be so wonderful to be a living saint, your life inspiring so many people, blah, blah, blah…” the interviewer said, or words to that effect.

    Mother Teresa just paused, and then said these words:

    “I struggle every day.”

    Now if Mother Teresa struggled every day, why should I expect an easy life? I’m not even close to being the saint she was.

    So, her words continually give me hope that I can do the same: I can struggle every day, too, with the hope that I can, like Mother Teresa, become the saint God wants me to be. But becoming that saint isn’t going to be easy, with Mother, I will struggle, too. But all of that struggling will be for good…because I long for heaven, I long to see God, and I hope then, when I die, to meet and hug Mother Teresa.

  2. Ed Says:

    The parents of St. Therese who were just beatified are a sign of hope. To me, they say to us people who are not priests or nuns that the grace of marriage and the grace of parenthood is enough to make us saints. We don’t become saints by being “like” good priests or nuns. We become saints by being good husbands, wives, and parents.

  3. Rebecca Says:

    St. Catherine of Siena gives me hope because of her efforts at unification and offering her sufferings to God.

Comments are closed.


